Renfrew County and District Health Unit "Optimal Health for All in Renfrew County and District"



Board of Health

Inaugural Board of Health Meeting, via GoToMeeting

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

The inaugural meeting of Renfrew County and District Health Unit's Board of Health was held on the virtual software platform, *GoToMeeting*, due to Ontario's COVID-19 pandemic. Members attended by audio and/or video.

Present:

Ann Aikens	Member
James Brose	Member
Michael Donohue	Member
J. Michael du Manoir	Member
Jane Dumas	Member
Peter Emon	Member
Joanne King	Member
Wilmer Matthews	Member
Jennifer Murphy	Member
Christine Reavie	Member
Carolyn Watt	Member

Staff:

Heather Daly	Acting Chief Executive Officer/Director, Corporate Services
Marilyn Halko	Executive Assistant (Secretary)

01. Call to Order

H. Daly called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m., and pursuant to the Renfrew County and District Health Unit—Board of Health—Procedural By-Law 2018-02, Sections 52 and 53, declared the officer positions vacant.

H. Daly welcomed the newly appointed Board Member, James Brose.

The formal notice of the listing of Renfrew County Councillor appointments to the Board of Health for 2022, was received from the County of Renfrew, on

December 15, 2021. The three documents received from the County of Renfrew will be included under correspondence in the meeting materials at the upcoming Regular Board meeting scheduled for Tuesday, January 25, 2022.

02. Agenda Approval

The agenda was approved as presented.

Resolution: #1 IBoH 2022-Jan-11

Moved by C. Reavie; seconded by J. Dumas; be it resolved that the agenda for the Inaugural Board of Health be approved, as presented.

Carried

03. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

04. Board Elections

a. Elect Chair

Pursuant to Section 52 and 53 of the Procedural By-law, H. Daly presided over the election of the Chair of the Board of Health for 2022.

H. Daly called for nominations for Chair.

W. Matthews nominated A. Aikens for election to the position of the Chair of the Board of Health. J. Dumas seconded the nomination.

H. Daly asked A. Aikens if she was willing to be nominated.

A. Aikens confirmed interest in being nominated.

- 1. H. Daly called for further nominations.
- 2. H. Daly called for further nominations.
- 3. H. Daly called for further nominations.

There were no further nominations.

H. Daly declared that Ann Aikens was acclaimed as the Chair of the Board of Health.

Chair Aikens presided over the remainder of the Inaugural Board of Health meeting.

b. Elect Vice-Chair

A. Aikens called for nominations for the position of the Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

C. Watt nominated C. Reavie for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health. J. King seconded the nomination.

A. Aikens asked C. Reavie if she was willing to be nominated.

C. Reavie confirmed interest in being nominated.

- 1. A. Aikens called for further nominations.
- 2. A. Aikens called for further nominations.

M. Donohue nominated P. Emon for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health. J. Murphy seconded the nomination.

A. Aikens asked P. Emon if he was willing to be nominated.

P. Emon confirmed interest in being nominated.

- 1. A. Aikens called for further nominations.
- 2. A. Aikens called for further nominations.
- 3. A. Aikens called for further nominations.

There were no further nominations.

After receiving the names of the two nominees for the Board of Health Vice-Chair, the Secretary prepared a secret voting ballot on the virtual platform—*Survey Monkey*. Due to technical issues, the transmission was unsuccessful.

Resolution: #2 IBoH 2022-Jan-11

Moved by P. Emon; seconded by C. Reavie; be it resolved that the Board email their vote for Vice-Chair to the Secretary, due to technical issues with Survey Monkey.

Carried

All Board Members emailed their vote, for the Vice-Chair, to the Secretary. The Secretary tallied and announced the results: C. Reavie—six votes, P. Emon—five votes.

A. Aikens declared C. Reavie elected as the Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

05. Striking Committee

- a. Appointment of Striking Committee
 - Chair Aikens appointed the following Board Members to the Striking Committee: C. Reavie, and C. Watt. The Chair also joined the appointees as a member of the Committee.

As Vice-Chair, C. Reavie assumed the role of Chair for the Striking Committee.

At 1:30 p.m., the IBoH meeting recessed for half an hour.

The meeting resumed at 2:00 p.m.

b. Report of the Striking CommitteeC. Reavie presented the <u>Striking Committee Board Report</u>.

Resolution: #3 IBoH 2022-Jan-11

Moved by P. Emon; seconded by J. King; be it resolved that the Board approve the Striking Committee Board Report, as presented.

Yes	Name of Board Member	No
\checkmark	Aikens, Ann	
\checkmark	Brose, James	
	Donohue, Michael	\checkmark
\checkmark	du Manoir, J. Michael	
\checkmark	Dumas, Jane	
	Emon, Peter	\checkmark
\checkmark	King, Joanne	
\checkmark	Matthews, Wilmer	
	Murphy, Jennifer	\checkmark
✓	Reavie, Christine	
\checkmark	Watt, Carolyn	
8	Totals	3

Recorded Vote

Carried by: 8-3
Defeated by:

06. New Business

The Chair reported to the Board that she had called former Board of Health Member, Cathy Regier, to thank her for her contribution to the Board of Health, during her terms, since January 2020.

Chair Aikens also took the opportunity to welcome newly appointed County of Renfrew representative, James Brose, to the Board of Health.

06. Next Meeting

The next Regular Board of Health meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 25, 2022, at 10:00 a.m., via *GoToMeeting*.

07. Adjournment

Resolution: #4 IBoH 2022-Jan-11

Moved by M. Donohue; seconded by C. Watt; be it resolved that the meeting be adjourned at 2:10 p.m.

The Inaugural Board of Health meeting adjourned at 2:10 p.m.

Chair

These meeting minutes were approved by the Board at the Regular Board meeting held on Tuesday, January 25, 2022.