Renfrew County and District Health Unit "Optimal Health for All in Renfrew County and District"



Board of Health

Inaugural Board of Health Meeting

Wednesday, January 08, 2020

The Inaugural Board of Health meeting of Renfrew County and District Health Unit's Board of Health was held in the Classroom at 7 International Drive, Pembroke, Ontario.

Present:

| Michael Donohue | Member |
|------------------------|--------|
| J. Michael du Manoir | Member |
| Peter Emon | Member |
| Daniel Janke | Member |
| Wilmer Matthews | Member |
| Christine Reavie | Member |
| Cathy Regier | Member |
| Janice Visneskie Moore | Member |
| Carolyn Watt | Member |

Regrets:

| M. Ann Aikens | Member |
|---------------|--------|
| Jane Dumas | Member |

Staff:

| Heather Daly | Acting Chief Executive Officer/Director, Corporate Services |
|---------------|---|
| Marilyn Halko | Executive Assistant (Secretary) |

01. Call to Order

H. Daly called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m.

02. Agenda Approval

The agenda was amended as follows:

- 04. Correspondence was added—letter from the County of Renfrew appointment of Cathy Regier to the Board of Health.
- The other items on the agenda were renumbered accordingly.

Resolution: # 1 IBoH 2020-Jan-08

A motion by J. Visneskie Moore; seconded by C. Reavie; be it resolved that the agenda for the Inaugural Board of Health be approved, as amended.

Carried

03. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

04. Correspondence

A letter from the County of Renfrew was hand-delivered to the meeting by M. Donohue to H. Daly, acknowledging the appointment of Councillor Cathy Regier to the Board of Health. The County of Renfrew—By-Law Number 1-20—A By-Law to Appoint the County Committees for the Ensuing Year or until Their Successors are Appointed—and an email—County of Renfrew Meeting Calendar Dates, sent to M. Halko accompanied the correspondence.

05. Board Elections

H. Daly presided over the election of the Board of Health Chair and called for nominations for the position.

W. Matthews nominated J. Visneskie Moore for election to the position of the Chair of the Board of Health.

A motion by W. Matthews; seconded by D. Janke; be it resolved that J. Visneskie Moore be nominated for election to the position of Chair of the Board of Health.

J. Visneskie Moore confirmed her interest in being nominated.

- 1. H. Daly called for further nominations.
- 2. H. Daly called for further nominations.
- 3. H. Daly called for further nominations.

No additional names were put forward. The nominations were closed.

J. Visneskie Moore was elected by acclamation as the Chair of the Board of Health and presided over the remainder of the Inaugural Board of Health meeting.

Vice-Chair

J. Visneskie Moore called for nominations for the position and election of the Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

W. Matthews nominated C. Watt for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

A motion by W. Matthews; seconded by D. Janke; be it resolved that C. Watt be nominated for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

C. Watt confirmed her interest in being nominated.

J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.

M. Donohue nominated Ann Aikens for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health. Aikens had expressed her interest for being nominated to the position of Vice-Chair, to Donohue.

Aikens was not present, at the meeting, so the Chair asked for a show of hands to allow the name of the Member to stand for election. The following motion went forward:

A motion by M. Donohue; seconded by P. Emon; be it resolved that Ann Aikens be nominated for election to the position of Vice-Chair.

- 1. J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.
- 2. J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.
- 3. J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.

No additional names were put forward.

A voting ballot was distributed to each Member of the Board for the election of a Vice-Chair.

After Members completed their voting ballot, they were collected, then counted by the Chair.

M. A. Aikens was elected as the Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

Resolution: # 2 IBoH 2020-Jan-08

A motion by C. Regier; seconded by P. Emon; be it resolved that the Board authorize staff to destroy ballots of election held this date.

Staff destroyed the ballots in clear sight of the Board Members.

06. Striking Committee

a. Appointment of Striking Committee

The newly elected Vice-Chair was not present at the meeting, so therefore could not assume the position of the Chair of the Striking Committee, as per Procedural By-Law 2018-02. Chair Visneskie Moore assumed the role and appointed the Striking Committee, comprised of Wilmer Matthews, Christine Reavie and Janice Visneskie Moore.

At 10:20 a.m., the BoH meeting broke for 15 minutes, while the Striking Committee convened to the Hard Rock Café to make decisions regarding the appointments of committees and committee chairs.

At 10:35 a.m., the meeting reconvened.

b. Striking Committee Report

J. Visneskie Moore delivered the Striking Committee's Report and it was accepted as per the following motion:

Resolution: # 3 IBoH 2020-Jan-08

A motion by P. Emon; seconded by C. Reavie; be it resolved that the Striking Committee recommend to the Board the appointment of the following Committees:

Governance—Ann Aikens/Chair, Michael Donohue, Wil Matthews, Janice Visneskie Moore

Resources—Danny Janke/Chair, Carolyn Watt, Michael du Manoir, Janice Visneskie Moore

Stakeholder Relations—Christine Reavie/Chair, Jane Dumas, Cathy Regier, Janice Visneskie Moore

Executive—Peter Emon/Chair, Christine Reavie, Danny Janke, Ann Aikens, Janice Visneskie Moore

The Board of Health Chair sits on all committees.

Carried

At 10:38 a.m., Dr. Robert Cushman, Acting Medical Officer of Health, joined the meeting, via teleconference.

07. Business Arising

- a. Public Health Modernization Updates
 - i. EOMOH Meeting

Dr. Cushman reported that the Eastern Ontario Medical Officers of Health (EOMOH) held a meeting, in Kingston, on Tuesday, December 17, 2019, to discuss Public Health Modernization for Eastern Ontario.

ii. RCDHU SMT & OPH SLT

Dr. Cushman updated the Board on the teleconference meeting held on Monday, January 06, 2020, with the Ottawa Public Health (OPH) Senior Leadership Team (SLT) and Renfrew County and District Health Unit (RCDHU) Senior Management Team (SMT), regarding Public Health Modernization.

There was no preconceived outcome for the meeting, except to explore the options that would provide the best possible health care to residents of Renfrew County and District.

M. Donohue provided the following link for the Board's information—<u>https://engage.ottawa.ca/PublicHealth</u>.

After Dr. Cushman's updates, a meeting was scheduled for Tuesday, February 04, 2020 at 10:00 a.m., for the Executive Committee and Senior Management Team.

At 11:30 a.m., Dr. Cushman ended his connection to the meeting.

08. Next Meeting

The next Regular Board of Health meeting will be held on Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.

09. Adjournment

Resolution: # 4 IBoH 2020-Jan-08

A motion by C. Reavie; seconded by C. Watt; be it resolved that the meeting be adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Carried

The Inaugural Board of Health meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Chair

The original approved meeting minutes were signed by Chair J. Visneskie Moore.