Renfrew County and District Health Unit "Optimal Health for All in Renfrew County and District"



Board of Health

Inaugural Board of Health Meeting

Tuesday, January 08, 2019

The Inaugural Board of Health meeting of Renfrew County and District Health Unit's Board of Health was held in the Classroom at 7 International Drive, Pembroke, Ontario.

Present:

Michael Donohue Member

J. Michael du Manoir Member

Jane Dumas Member (joined via teleconference)

Daniel Janke Member
Wilmer Matthews Member
Christine Reavie Member
Debbie Robinson Member
Janice Visneskie Moore Member
Carolyn Watt Member

Regrets:

M. Ann Aikens Member
Peter Emon Member

Staff:

Heather Daly Acting Chief Executive Officer/Director, Corporate Services

Marilyn Halko Executive Assistant (Secretary)

01. Call to Order

H. Daly called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

02. Agenda Approval

The agenda was amended to include item 05. Striking Committee as follows:

- a. Appointment of Striking Committee
- b. Report of Striking Committee

c. Resolution to accept Striking Committee's recommendations for 2019.

Resolution: # 1 IBoH 2019-Jan-08

A motion by M. Donohue; seconded by J. Visneskie Moore; be it resolved that the agenda for the Inaugural Board of Health be approved, as amended.

Carried

03. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

No conflicts of interest were declared.

04. Board Elections

- H. Daly presided over the election of the Board of Health Chair and called for nominations for the position.
- C. Reavie nominated J. Visneskie Moore for election to the position of the Chair of the Board of Health.

Resolution: # 2 IBoH 2019-Jan-08

A motion by C. Reavie; seconded by C. Watt; be it resolved that J. Visneskie Moore be nominated for election to the position of Chair of the Board of Health.

Carried

- J. Visneskie Moore confirmed her interest in being nominated.
- 1. H. Daly called for further nominations.
- 2. H. Daly called for further nominations.
- 3. H. Daly called for further nominations.

No additional names were put forward.

J. Visneskie Moore was elected by acclamation as the Chair of the Board of Health and presided over the remainder of the Inaugural Board of Health meeting.

Vice-Chair

- J. Visneskie Moore called for nominations for the position and election of the Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.
- W. Matthews nominated C. Watt for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

Resolution: # 3 IBoH 2019-Jan-08

A motion by W. Matthews; seconded by D. Janke; be it resolved that C. Watt be nominated for election to the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

Carried

- C. Watt confirmed her interest in being nominated.
- 1. J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.
- 2. J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.
- 3. J. Visneskie Moore called for further nominations.

No additional names were put forward.

C. Watt was elected by acclamation as the Vice-Chair of the Board of Health.

05. Striking Committee

a. Appointment of Striking Committee

Resolution: 4 IBoH 2019-Jan-08

A motion by M. Donohue; seconded by J. M. du Manoir; be it resolved that the Board appoint a Striking Committee comprised of Janice Visneskie Moore, Christine Reavie and Carolyn Watt as Chair.

Carried

At 10:15 a.m. the BoH meeting broke for ten minutes, and the Striking Committee convened to the Hard Rock Café to make decisions regarding the appointments of committees and committee chairs.

At 10:25 a.m. the meeting reconvened.

- b. Report of Striking Committee
 - C. Watt delivered the Striking Committee's Report as follows:

Board of Health Committees:

- Governance: W. Matthews (Chair) P. Emon, M. Donohue and C. Watt
- Resources: D. Janke (Chair), J. M. du Manoir and D. Robinson
- Stakeholder Relations: C. Reavie (Chair) J. Dumas and M. A. Aikens

 Executive: P. Emon (Chair), J. Visneskie Moore (BoH Chair), C. Watt (Vice-Chair) and all Committee Chairs (W. Matthews, D. Janke, and C. Reavie)

Board of Health Chair, J. Visneskie Moore, sits on all committees.

c. Resolution to accept the Striking Committee's recommendations for 2019.

Resolution: # 5 IBoH 2019-Jan-08

A motion by W. Matthews; seconded by D. Robinson; be it resolved that the Board approve the recommendations of the Striking Committee for the Governance, Resources, Stakeholder Relations and Executive Committee Chairs for 2019.

Carried

06. Next Meeting

The next Regular Board of Health meeting was changed to Thursday, January 31, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

07. Adjournment

Resolution: # 6 IBoH 2019-Jan-08

A motion by C. Reavie; seconded by M. Donohue; be it resolved that the meeting be adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Carried

The Inaugural Board of Health meeting adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Chair				

The original approved minutes were signed by the Chair.